emily cline art

gettin' my ya-ya's out

It’s Perfect, Just Like That

14
Art Journaling Club Class

First Art Journaling Club Class — it’s a great mess!

About 10 days ago, I woke up in the middle of the night and thought, “Why am I not teaching?”

I keep getting stuck on the fact that I’m not a teacher. I am an artist; I don’t know anything about teaching. But at 3:40 a.m., I realized, I don’t care: I want to share what I know. I’m already sharing with adults, but it’s been my dream for years to share it with teenage girls, so they have a safe place and healthy, creative way to express themselves.

Like all my productions and projects, I dove in. I find repeatedly, consistently, if I try to make something “perfect“, it never happens. It will never be perfect. It has to just be what it is, however that takes shape, and that’s perfect.

I wrote an email to the middle school art teachers, introducing myself, giving them my credits and examples of what I do. It felt a little weird to just email them out of the blue, so I turned to my friends and fellow moms with teenage girls. I asked if they’d be interested. A resounding “YES!” came back. When? After school! Where? Here!

We met for the first time yesterday afternoon. We made a huge mess, we giggled, we got our fingers moving. I woke up this morning, thinking of all the things I can share with them, not teach, just share… journaling, different styles of writing, stamps, Gelli pad, stencils, composition, secret panels and pockets — the list feels limitless!

I’m already blown away by their enthusiasm and willingness. They just do. anything.

art journaling

Experiment in glitter!

That gloppy sparkly gorgeous blob of color is one girl’s experiment in glitter. I love it. I love her. I love them. It’s perfect, just like that.

14 thoughts on “It’s Perfect, Just Like That

  1. julie

    Funny because I always thought you would make a great teacher and that’s only from knowing you through blogging. It’s all about sharing:) Happy to know I am not the only one up in the wee hours of morning thinking about this type of stuff…

    Like

    1. emilyclineart Post author

      That’s crazy, Julie! I’m terrified of teaching! Coming from a family of teachers, I’m in awe of what they do!!
      Next time you’re up at 3:45, think of me! I’ll be waving!

      Like

  2. Kelly Pratt

    Emily, this is great! I’ve taught visual journaling for teen aged girls once and it was a hoot! I’ve moved and now your post has me thinking about it again… i think i’ll jump in! Our future is in the hands of our youth and what better use of our time than to teach our girls to honor themselves and their abilities!!

    thanks for the inspiration!
    Kelly

    Like

  3. Patricia Overly

    I’m smiling so big for you! It is perfect. You are perfect. Couldn’t be better. Something like the nut falling not far from the tree….

    I’ve been having a ball sharing…especially with a group of young girls…we make the journals and begin the decorating with our stories ….not a high money gig but worth its weight in gold for satisfaction.

    I feel certain you know that though!
    xoxo,
    p

    Like

Leave a Reply

