emily cline art

gettin' my ya-ya's out

What he said

4

I went to an “event” not long ago… okay, it was church, but don’t freak out. I’m not going to get all religious or anything. I was happily spending time with my in-laws. And the speaker — okay okay, the priest! — the priest talked about how in our culture today, we all strive to live a perfect and good life. That’s our societal norm: always striving to be better. But, he said that was wrong.  That a perfect life was already lived. By you know who. (It was a week before Easter, after all.)

art journaling
I don’t have to be perfect?? awesome!

I can’t tell you how happy that makes me. Never mind that it wasn’t my church meeting. Never mind the fact that I’d never met this Priest man speaking before. I love the fact that I don’t have to be perfect! Cuz if I’m not having one of my high-and-mighty moments where I think I am perfect, then I’m doing my damnedest darn’dest to be perfect.

I had so many grand ideas for the pages shown above. I’ve been so inspired by my friends doing such pretty, harmonious work; I set out to do the same. But nope. I’m not perfect. And I don’t have to be. That’s what he said.

4 thoughts on “What he said

  1. Tracey Clem

    I’m bummed I can’t see the image!!

    You know I’m a big fan of “you know who”! 🙂 And while you may not always be perfect (who is?!) you absolutely rock stunning, brilliant, creative & generous, just to name a few. 🙂

    Like

  2. Kathy Anfuso

    Oh funny, someone is listening to the same person we are….it’s so great to not have to be perfect as the perfect one paid that price for us…knowing we couldn’t do it ever, no one could, so you and I can be ordinary in a unique way, and when we tag onto Him He can do amazing things through us…kind of the life we live….so imagine your God given talent which is amazing linking up with more than you can think or imagine…wow…Vic calls it life lived on the leading edge of a bolt of lightening…hum….love you oh so much, AK

    Like

    1. emilyclineart Post author

      mm. yeah. That lightening bolt edge sounds about right!! I question these ideas all the time. But every once in a while, something actually gets through my thick skull and lands on my heart. I needed that! Oh-so-much love back atcha! xoxoxo 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

