emily cline art

gettin' my ya-ya's out

Sitting in a New York coffee shop

6

I’m sitting in a New York coffee shop, and I notice a 30-something woman sitting next to me, anxiously studying lines for an audition.
Memories flood back to me of all those days when I did the same. Worrying. Hoping. Dreaming. Worrying. What if they don’t like me? What if I screw up? What happens if I get the job? Would I be famous? Could I still go to Target? Would I be lonely?
All those questions… Shooting myself in the foot before I even got in the door. Seems to me, flow goes where The Big One wants to go, not where we push and force it to go.
I’m glad I’m out of the business at times like this. I’m glad I’m not that girl, anxiously tapping her foot, biting her cheek, saying words to herself. Worrying.

6 thoughts on “Sitting in a New York coffee shop

    1. emilyclineart Post author

      You know it’s funny.. I watched your interview video last week and it’s been playing in the back of my mind. I’m sure it had a lot to do with my thoughts today. I wish I’d had your classes 10 years ago! Xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

