emily cline art

gettin' my ya-ya's out

May baskets! May baskets!

0

Growing up, every year on May 1, we celebrated May Day. Mom and I would make paper baskets, sugar up popcorn, add some candy or chocolates and maybe some pansies, then deliver them. We’d ring the doorbell, shout, “May basket! May basket!” and take off running: if the receiver caught you, they got to kiss you! It was a fun, silly tradition and I loved it.

So this year, I am welcoming the coming of warm sunny days like I never have before in my entire life. May baskets seemed perfectly appropriate. My son & I popped up at the crack of dawn, and the creating began! Now we’re off to deliver them in person to neighbors and family now, but I wanted to send a little “May basket!” to you. Happy May Day!

Leave a Reply

